Kansas City Misdemeanor Defense Lawyers - Protecting Your Rights and Fighting for Your Freedom
If you’re facing a misdemeanor charge, you’re most likely wondering if it would be in your best interest to hire a criminal defense attorney to represent you or not. Unfortunately, many people make the mistake of handling misdemeanor offenses without hiring an experienced lawyer to be on their side, rather than using the service of a public defender or, at worst, representing themselves in the courtroom.
It is critical to understand that having an experienced criminal defense lawyer on your side can make a significant difference in the outcome of your case. In fact, an attorney could help get your entire case dismissed or help lower your charges.
Kansas Misdemeanor Classifications
- Class A misdemeanors carry a maximum sentence of one year's jail time and a $2,500 fine.
- Class B misdemeanors carry a maximum sentence of six months' jail time and a $1,000 fine.
- Class C misdemeanors carry a maximum sentence of one month's jail time and a $500 fine.
- Unclassified misdemeanors carry the sentence specified in statute, or if no sentence is specified, the penalty defaults to a class C misdemeanor.